An Indulgence Worth Dying For?

By Kellene Bishop

We’ve all heard of individuals who have “die hard” hobbies, but does anyone have a hobby, or an indulgence that’s really worth dying for?

Indulge me for a moment here, as I do have a point.

indulgence-shoesI love books.  Can’t get enough of them.  I love shopping for shoes.  No matter what my weight, shoes always look good.  I love scrapbooking.  It allows me to indulge in a creative and relaxing outlet.  And I love going to movies—especially action adventure ones with my hubby.  But like all of you, I’m on a limited budget, especially as of late.  In fact, I think for the first time in my life I actually HAVE a budget.  So, where is my money being spent?  Well, I can’t remember the last time I splurged on shoes.  And I haven’t bought scrapbooking supplies in over a year.  And the few books that I have indulged in have been “used” and great finds at garage sales.  I haven’t paid to see a movie outside of matinee times for well over a year.  Why?  I realized that for myself and many of the women I know, these indulgences are taking the place of some more important matters in our life.  And these are indulgences that could literally cost a life. 

I don’t know about you, but I’m certain that there’s NO indulgence I have that’s worth dying for.  When I think about it this way, that movie, shiny pair of shoes, newest marketing book, or the easiest way to cut a teddy bear shape no longer seems all that important.  I realize that NONE of my indulgences are lifesaving.  And yet the amount of money I spent on scrapbooking supplies every 6 months would easily buy a new firearm.  The amount of money I spent on shoes each year would purchase a thousand rounds of ammo, even at today’s prices.  For some, their daily run to the convenience store would quickly supply their local police department with enough ammo for an entire month!

9mm-roundsEach sheet of scrapbooking paper I could buy nowadays is the same cost as a 9mm round.  A crafty little cutting machine is now the same cost as a lifesaving firearm. A single night out to a great restaurant (ok, I admit that I miss Ruth’s Chris and The Melting Pot) will also pay for a firearm!  With attendance at only 10 movies I could easily pay for more expert training on self-defense.  While a book or the heel of a shoe, or some great paper scissors may be used as a weapon of protection, neither or these tools were made specifically for saving a life or protecting a community.

So, here’s the question.  Do you really think you can’t afford a firearm?  I say you can’t afford NOT to have one.  Those daily coffees or sodas you purchase aren’t going to prevent a rape, a mugging, or a violent robbery.  But a firearm and some skills training definitely will. 

Those DVDs you purchase are great for the grandkids, but they are useless in protecting them from a kidnapper in the middle of the night.  

When you want to find the money to spend on something that you adore, you usually can find a way.  As women though, we rarely try to find ways to increase our self-defenses, let alone spend money on them.  And that simply has to change.  We literally cannot survive in peace without taking the responsibility of protecting ourselves and our loved ones more seriously and making it a priority.  So the next time you indulge in one of life’s little pleasures, ask yourself if the indulgence is taking the place of something more critical?

Photo c/o stevensadmissions.typepad.com

Photo c/o stevensadmissions.typepad.com

The good news is that due to the state of the current economy, a lot of folks are selling their firearms and even ammo privately.  You can usually get a GREAT deal using your local classified ads.  So not only has there never been a more needful time to take responsibility for your self-defense, but there’s never been a more cost effective time to do so either.  Additionally, once you have purchased a firearm, it’s usually a one-time purchase.  You can then go back to indulging.  What would be even better is if you caught the bug, so to speak, and firearms became your new indulgence.  OK, OK.  I won’t get too carried away.  But I can dream, can’t I?

If you think about it, claiming that you can’t afford to protect yourself really isn’t about the money.  It’s most likely about the priorities you’ve set, the fears you may have, or the education you still require.  

While indulgences are great, and even necessary in my opinion, I must put them in their proper place so that I can consistently stand for what really matters to me—safety, peace, security, competence, and confidence. 

Copyright 2009 Kellene Bishop. All rights reserved.  You are welcome to repost this information so long as it is credited to Kellene Bishop.

2 Responses

  1. I think (excluding a few extreme scenarios such as disabilities) that pretty much everyone can afford an AR a shotgun and a Glock or whatever reasonably priced weapons suit their fancy.

    It is more about choices than income. Lay off the smokes and booze or stop eating out all the time. Get a part time job. Cook your own food from scratch at home. Sell stuff you don’t need.

Leave a Reply

