A Time to Squelch an “Opposing View”

By Kellene Bishop

stop-asking-questionsToday I briefly endured a ridiculous article talking about how some people were un-American for rattling off their opposing views about the proposed health care changes, and other critical issues. (Click here for the article) Pelosi and others have whined that they aren’t even given a chance to share their views on these topics, as they have repeatedly been shut down by folks who don’t want to listen to what they have to say. Why is that, one may ask?

Well, I believe it falls in line with the same reasons why I don’t rationalize and have a conversation with a criminal. There are times when it’s plainly obvious that your life and livelihood are in danger, at which point you don’t offer tea and crumpets to the perpetrator. You take action to defend yourself and your values immediately, lest you act too late. In my opinion, this is a serious problem occuring in America both politically and physically. In the name of “decency” we are trying to rationalize with imminent threats all around us. Lives have literally been lost in this process. And certainly freedoms have been sacrificed.

Let’s put it this way. A would-be rapist definitely has an opposing view from mine. This would definitely be a view that I should have no hesitation in squelching. No, I shouldn’t converse with him. No, I shouldn’t let him get his point across. I should indeed stand up for everything good, free, and virtuous within me and stop the threat, period. I believe that fighting for one’s freedom is the most American thing one can do, even if it means not permitting the would-be perpetrator to have their say. When it comes to this kind of danger, both physically and politically, I’d say political correctness has lost its purpose.

Copyright 2009 Kellene Bishop. All rights reserved.  You are welcome to repost this information so long as it is credited to Kellene Bishop.  
16 Responses

  1. I like the way you write and the way you express ideas. I am going to share this article with friends as well – you “said it” better than I could have…

    Thanks,

    Doug

  2. I’m noticing a change in me. That is to say, I have noticed I get sicker to my stomach each time these politicians speak out against the American public.

    It’s not that I expect people to agree on everything. On the contrary, debate is good. But these childish tactics they use by calling people “un-American” just makes me sick.

    There once was a time when people would be thrown in jail for committing treason — back when “treason” meant the bad guys did something wrong, did something truly un-American. I fear that we are fast approaching a time when we’ll find good people being labeled “treasonous” for simply daring to speak out against the corruption and arrogance we have in our government.

    God help us all.

  3. What is more American than to demand redress of grievances of your government. Heck, this right is more American than apple pie.

    However, to be told by the president to shut up, or called un-American by the opposing view is just wrong, no – it is tyranny. Which by the way why so many of us are so up set and angry – and that includes both parties respectfully.

  4. Oh Kellene, I wish you were here! I have a chance to go to a Town Hall meeting tomorrow morning, and really wish I had some “security”. (wink wink) I seriously don’t trust my life in the presence of some of the wackos that the local folks are expecting, and don’t know if I dare go. You are right on, as always. Political correctness is turning into sheer insanity, and hopefully people in shoes like mine can get fully prepared (= armed for proper self defense) before it is too late.

    Miss you woman!

  5. The issue is not disagreeing on proposed legislation: the issue is shouting people down. No actual debate takes place, just an emotional airing of grievances. Lets not turn a debate in to a protest.

    • I believe you’ve missed my point in this article, cavalier. When the only position being given on one side is that of evil, then a firm protest is the only proper response.

      • Hahaha! This is classic! Perhaps cavalier does think it’s possible to talk a rapist out of their dirty deeds. Or perhaps a calm discussion might work? “Please, you really don’t *want* to rape me… you’ve just been abused and feel out of control, and have to take out your aggression on others to regain your control…” Yeah, Kellene, I do think he missed the point.

        But to carry on the tangent, I believe people generally only yell when they feel like they’re not being heard, or if their life, or that of someone they love, is in danger.

      • When it comes to a rapist I’ll go for the throat with my teeth, but I don’t think health care reform is at that point. Its more like a creepy guy asking to go for a drive. Object, object strongly, but it’s early to gouge and kick.

        Firm protest is one thing, I’m all for that. But people are yelling and shouting rather than talking. Without an actual discussion, without using facts and reason, we are no better than people’s heartfelt cries of “what about the children” or “if it saves one life.”

        Say you don’t like it, say it loud and clear, but let EVERYONE have their say. People are being called un-American and being ejected from meetings because it’s impossible to HOLD the meeting with all the disruption. Is it right to use MY freedom of speech to restrict YOUR freedom of speech?

  6. (I do not mean to imply cavalier is a rapist sympathizer in any way – I’m just saying sometimes a cool-headed conversation is not always possible with those who refuse to listen, or prefer to marginalize the opposing view.)

  7. @Jen

    You make a good point, Jen, about “not being heard”. I think it’s high time politicians see how their actions (or inaction in some cases) are affecting the people they’re supposed to be representing. I just hope they don’t decide to stop having meetings where the public can be a part of the conversation.

  8. I so agree with you.

  9. Like Cavalier, I find the analogy bizarre.

    Rapist versus the issue of Freedom of Speech and polite political discourse? What are you advocating? That every week, the commentators on the Sunday Talking Head Shows should whip out guns and shoot each other rather than engage in discussion? Screaming down your opponents just shows a total lack of class and has absolutely nothing to do with rapists, Second Amendment rights, or anything else.

    • I can understand your point of view, Cecile. The only part you miss, I think, in what I’m sharing, is when the opposing side is threatening our lives. In my opinion, there is much of what is being discussed today that does indeed threaten our very lives. In which case, I’m not convinced being “pc” is appropriate. We need to fight for our lives diligently on the political scene as well as in our own homes.

  10. I agree that having a calm yet productive dialogue is indeed the way to handle any type of issue, especially when it’s a matter of government trying to do anything that’s not what their constituents want them to do.

    However, I think something is being overlooked which might explain what’s being debated here. Americans have been complaining about the way our government has been handling things since its inception. For the past few decades, it has unfortunately been bubbling under the surface. People haven’t been responding to the level they should and wait for others to speak for them. Their actions may have been focused on simply contacting their government officials to make their concerns known.

    But seeing as how those representatives haven’t done what we’ve asked them to OR done what they have promised, it’s only natural to find that we’re very upset with them. So I believe what we’re seeing here is that frustration is finally being seen.

    Your comment, Kellene, about being “PC” sparked something in me that I hope you don’t mind me commenting on though it is slightly off-topic. 🙂

    Being “PC” is, in large part, something that I think has crippled us as a nation. It has divided us into smaller and smaller groups instead of being one whole entity. (Anyone remember the phrase “The Great American Melting Pot?” It’s not that way anymore, I’m afraid.) It has caused us to be more sensitive to those who may offend us when we should just turn the other cheek. It has caused to think of ourselves first and our neighbor second. In other words, we ask, “what can you do for me?” instead of “what can I do for you?” and “how will this benefit our society as a whole?”

    Great discussion going on here, Kellene. Keep up the good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

